Health Journalists. Ethics & Truth. Don’t Shoot The Messenger.

ethics2In the U.S. there’s Health Journalism conference…. I think it ends today….

On health. For people. Presumably on the health of people. That intrigues me. These people write about health. YOU are the messenger.

One can only presume your job is to give absolutely and without question, balanced and truthful information to your readers about facts on whatever subject of health  you’re writing on.

That’s pretty important. Someone looks to you for information. Pretty hefty responsibility if you ask me.

In my own “not so glamorous” day job, I service security systems. Pretty unimportant, until you consider ALL have life saving devices. Fire, Heat detection. Burglary. Medical pendants. Panic buttons. Holdup alarms. Other things integrated with the systems. Pretty important.

If I’m wrong, or make a poor decision or say, don’t do my job to the best of my ability, someone potentially could get hurt or die. I look at that as huge. I need to be right every time. No room for error or misleading calculations. I can’t just do “part of my job”. Lives are at stake.


I vape. I use an e-cig. I’m almost 2 years smoke-free. If you write about health, surely the idea of tobacco harm reduction has come across your keyboard at least once. Surely you’ve heard of vaping or at least an e-cigarette as a way to reduce or stop smoking.

Surely if you’re a “science/med “journo”, e-cigs have crossed your path. If not in the science side of your journalism with technology, certainly the subject has come up either with you or your readings along the lines of your health interests. Someone you know. No?


Good or bad, you’ve at least heard of e-cigs or vaping. Is that not a huge part of health? Smoking/quitting smoking? Ways… means… struggles…controversy in the e-cigarette world… ringing a bell? No? REALLY? Wow.  If you’re a journalist and you haven’t heard of this by now, you need to read more than you write to inform your readers.

Get out more. Talk to your professional friends. Responsibly. Professionally. With truth. If you don’t LIKE the truth, at least LINK the truth. That would just be a courtesy to the reader you are trying to inform. *Wink*.


enough


Here’s help towards the truth, it’s on almost every blog post I do:

ecigarette-research.org

A Link to WONDERFUL Professionals

who are able to talk/email with you about that truth at M.O.V.E.:

http://sciencecig.wordpress.com/


I’d expect in my 47 years that truth, not opinion,  in journalism, especially HEALTH journalism, would be a given.

Wait a minute… maybe not. Seems some “journalists” are like some in public health.

Lets meet a “science/med journo” person. I didn’t see a specific magazine or health e-zine, “science/med journo” is what is claimed.

j2sciencemed journo3


REMINDER: not tweeting my opinions.

https://twitter.com/tarahaelle/status/592363348374622208

j2sciencemed journo

The “YES” and the “THE” as they are capitalized, in my opinion, are opinion  – but for clarity, that’s just my opinion.

Maybe I’m taking this out of context?


It’s not a crime to be entertained or like popcorn.

Doing this blog entertains me.

https://twitter.com/tarahaelle/status/592131969451855872

j2sciencemed journo2


Now I come to the trust part of my blog. trust

Imagine an older person, who may be afraid of asking questions to anyone, or not knowing anyone who vapes.

Maybe she’s tried every other method to quitting smoking there is known to man. Maybe she’s afraid to try e-cigarettes.

All she sees in the MEDIA is bad, or at least that is what she remembers.

Maybe she’s new to the online twitter world and unsure and only uninformed by default …finding out on twitter about e-cigs for the first time and learning on twitter with a random search. UGH.

Maybe, just maybe she sees misinformation and decides to keep smoking.

Meet this lady. She walked into a vape shop. (Thank you for that blog, Deb Iten!)


This is why ethics and truth is in question.

fight

So, you see, I fight for that lady.

The M.O.V.E. Organization represents the professional community who fights for that lady.

Other Twitter & Facebook members feverishly FIGHT for that lady.

Along with all the other babbling I do on twitter, facebook and here where

I did a survey of over 7,000 people WORLDWIDE…


Certainly, I am no journalist, but I am an advocate. I and many others watch for this very thing:

Misinformation.

Don’t take it personally. Take it personally. Doesn’t matter.

I distrust YOU because you claim “don’t know enough”,

Just like all the others.

If you don’t know what you’re supposed to “know” by now, after ecigs have had 10+ years on the market, you’re more idiotic than the posts I call you out on.

If you’re in the health field and you write about it without the truth, shame ON you.

To be informative, you must be informed. I learn something EVERY day about vaping. I DON’T know everything, but I’ll ask, read, question things and then read some more.




 UPDATE May 7th:

This journalist, Tara Haelle, released this on the recording of those tweets, to be fair I’ve included it here!

AHCJ15 Panel on E-Cigarettes/Vaping




I, and thousands like me, smarter than I am are advocating for a reason.

To HELP people, to give them the information. To help change LIVES if they choose to do so.


VapeMeStoopid does this VERY WELL, here.


If you’re claiming you’re a journalist and can’t do

15 minutes of research

to inform your readers,

Well… you’re not doing your frigging job.




I just hope one of us get to that lady before you do.



More on “Risk Perception and The Media”

 


Keep ON #Vaping On.

Kevin

Leave a Reply

