Medical Professionals Speak Out on E-Cigarettes.

p11

What do medical professionals decide with their patients?

How are e-cigarettes now being discussed along side their colleagues and organizations?

How do professionals feel about them as a tool for tobacco harm reduction?


One response was

“Nothing is more detrimental to your health than inhaling burning tobacco”



The following answers are as they were, in full, to each question in this survey. It is all here for you as a professional to see what your colleagues have said.


 *Update 4/13/16:

The survey below was used as one of many references here:

Views from the Coalface: What Do English Stop Smoking Service Personnel Think about E-Cigarettes?


As an individual the information you see may help you decide an e-cigarette is right for you –  based on these responses and other responsible science, research and other links on this blog.

There was no editing of comments, including spelling.

I did remove 2 responses – one admitted they were not a health/medical professional, one only answered the 1st 2 questions. All else is intact here.

This is what the medical community said.


0155 decided to leave their names.


Question 2. Please give your professional opinion on e-cigarettes.

85% said they are safer than combustible cigarettes.

02Professional



Comments:

Nothing is more detrimental to your health than inhaling burning tobacco
Anybody who says anything to the contrary should not be working in healthcare.
I am not convinced they are aiding people to stop smoking I’ve seen patients using them as an alternative when in a no smoking area and it seems to be encouraging more smoking
No tobacco and nicotine is optional
But depends on it flavouring ingredient. Higher the nicotine, less safe it will be.
I have no doubt about this and I see them as a huge public health breakthrough

 “Other”

Are less harmful than cigarettes.
safer but..

Question 3. Have you as a professional received any information from an association or any organization about e-cigarettes?

03info


Comments:

Canadian Medical Association, Vancouver Island Health Authority, BC Medical Health Officer, Heart & Stroke Association, the list is too long…

I switched to an ecig so that way I could lower my nicotine and take one puff instead of wasting a whole cigarette.

I use one myself and there are no carcinogens in my e-juice.

National Centre for Smoking Cessation & Training (NCSCT)

ASH UK

Public Health England

“Other”

I have done my own research

Received both positive negative and forward-looking


Question 4. When Patients ask about e-cigarettes I:

77% will tell patients an e-cigarette is an option.

04patientasksComments:

and encourage them to use it.
It’s called Champix in UK
Because the college of nurses of ontario has not made an official statement I can’t legally make vaping an alternative smoking cessation option. Side note – I vape doe….
I would advise my patients against them as not enough is known about their content and effect there are many alternatives that have proven effectiveness I feel are safer
I would tell them that in my opinion that it appears safer than combustible type. they should also try smoking cessation. Especially if there may be a health diagnosis that would be a contraindication to e cigarettes.
Being a cna I’m not in the position. To write a prescription but I talk to those that are interested.
All forms of smoking carry some risk whether it be cigarettes, hookah, e-cigarettes, etc. I don’t know of many people who have successfully quit smoking all together using e-cigarettes. I feel like people just trade one addiction for another. Which is worse I don’t know.
Closest to real smoking with hand to mouth action.
If they take more nicotine contain ingredient, they may addict to it. Less nicotine is much better.
It’s important on a lot of levels that stop smoking services talk about licensed meds, but many patients will have tried them before, unsuccessfully. Ecigs offer new hope

 “Other”

Suggest e-cigarettes
Inform them it’s likely the least healthy, but also by far the most effective.
Both ecigarette and counseling
I’ve never been asked that, but I would encourage quitting cold turkey. From what I’ve been told, that’s the best way to quit.
depends..


Question 5. Do you have or know of patients who smoke fewer cigarettes or who have stopped smoking using an e-cigarette?

05stopped

Comments:

I have worked with patients who have used ecigs in combination with traditional nrt to quit

Myself included.

My patients are typically marked as a smoker or nonsmoker… Anesthesia makes that determination and I’ve never asked if they would still be marked as a smoker with the e-cigarette.

I myself have been smoke free for 9.5 months with this cessation tool.

Our service has seen success on both levels ie complete cessation and cutting down, which MAY ultimately lead to cessation, just more slowly

“Other”

There are dual users. Self-reporting amounts are not very accurate.

More people than not.


Question 6.  If a patient says they stopped using tobacco with an e-cigarette I will

06nonsmokerComments:

would like to have option c-cig user..

Depending on the nicotine use so that the patient may receive a nicotine patch while in our locked no smoking/vaping unit.

Will make a note in the chart about vaping and note nic strength and amount of use.

I’m not sure if swapping one habit for another is a positive step they would need to quit the e cigarettes first

One whole year.

National guidance from PHE has come out that if people are not smoking they are non-smokers! Not everyone has caught on however

I don’t understand. If they have stopped have they stopped using both e-cigarette and regular cigarettes?

“Other”

document that the patient state they use e cigarettes

Comment that the pasient used to smoke cigarettes but have stopped and is now vaping. For medical staff.

Doesn’t apply to my field

I don’t know

See comment to question 5.


Question 7. Of patients who use electronic cigarettes have you

07healthbenefits

Comments:

This is a very poorly worded question.

Noted reductions in COPD and GERD in different patients

In the nursing home a patient switched and when she goes outside to vape she no longer has a phlegmy cough and sleeps through the night better.

Only mental health is routinely monitored within my service. Service users successfully quitting or reducing smoking through ecigs appear to have improved self-esteem after stopping smoking.

“Other”

no comment

Some astmathic pasients have decreased lung problems after they starter vaping and use inhalors less frequently.

Noticed exaserbated symtoms of conditions

N/a

N/A. I see my patients for one day typically, so I am unable to assess progress or trends of that nature.

I’m a Quitcard provider and have only recently had clients use e-cigarettes containing nicotine so haven’t noticed changes yet.

Question 8. When discussing electronic cigarettes with colleagues have you

08colleaguesComments:

We generally agree that ecigs are a safer alternative, so long as nicotine levels are being reduced below that of traditional cigarettes

The hospital I work for has a no smoking/vaping policy. I work on the mental health unit and I believe that this is unjust. Patients I care for are supposed to be therapeutically relaxed and taking away a self therapy such as smoking is more detrimental to our patients trying to adjust after being involuntarily committed.

E cigarettes banned however most staff believe they shouldn’t be

Most of my co-workers smoke. A few have quit smoking using personal Vaporizors (e-cig), so they have not only researched the topic, they have observed improved health in the people they care for, they have experienced first hand how helpful it is to use an e-cig as a method to help them quit and like the results and the process much better than when they took chantix.

Staff continue to be resistant to SUs vaping near them, due to false perceptions of harm to bystanders.
Organisation has prohibited the use of ecigs indoors & rejected my appeal to reverse this decision

Many have quit.

I often discuss this with colleagues from other areas, disciplines, who are initially sceptical but who become convinced of the positive effects, especially once they listen to vapers

Question 9. What changes do you note in patients who switch from smoking to vaping.

09changesComments.

In general, not personally.

Far better mental health is very notable: being released from the grips of tobacco after decades is really life changing for people.

I see less ups and downs in behaviors in the ones who have quit smoking and now use a vaporizor (e-cig).

Activity tolerance is improved noticeably

I don’t have enough interaction with pts who are using e-cigarettes to answer.

“Other”

Decreased use of antibiotics, inhalors and other drugs in several asthmatic pasients.

N/A

improved mental health following success in making positive changes

As above, clients of mine have only recently started using e-cigarettes so I haven’t noticed any changes yet.

Question 10. Please finish this sentence: Nicotine without delivery by combustible cigarettes is:

4% think nicotine is dangerous,

25% think nicotine is addictive.

10nicotineis

Comments

A viable treatment option for smokers wanting to quit and should be encouraged to be used alongside behavioural support

It’s not addictive.

Nicotine is a stimulant with known brain receptors, however, so is caffeine. Research is ongoing but seems to be pointing towards a less addictive status of nicotine versus that of cigarettes.

Nicotine when isolated from the noxious fumes of combustion in tobacco is far less damaging than we are being led to believe.

I’d almost say it’s no cause for concern, but it is a mild stimulant and depressant, and no drug use is healthier than full abstinence (caffeine included)

It also causes an increase in blood pressure, vasoconstriction, and increases the risk for blood clots.

Like Caffeine. Nicotine is actually good for certain medical conditions as dementia, diabetes, depression, ADHD, and colitis.

Possibly the best way of preventing relapse to smoking, with huge public health benefits. Healthcare professionals and politicians should get over their horror of nicotine

Still not quitting. Which should be your goal!

Probably addictive but may not be via nicotine patches and low dose gum, lozenges and e-cigarettes

“Other”

An e-cigarette
An addictive stimulant

 Question 11. As a medical professional I

63% would definitely recommend e-cigarettes

17% are cautious

6% would never recommend e-cigarettes.

11recommendComments.

Support anyone wanting to stop smoking regardless of method of cessation
I Recommend it to patients who have tried traditional methods without success. If someone wants to quit nicotine completely they should use all available methods, but if they’re unsuccessful that’s when I recommend vaping.
This survey has made me write an email to my college seeking guidance. Thank you.
Wouldn’t recfomend as not allowed to; however I believe they are a good alternative for patients in long stay in patient wards who have no desire to quit
I do not feel I can give an evidence based answer to anyone who asks about e cigarettes and more research is needed
Its an easier way to slowly decrease nicotine intake.
Only cautiously because employer bans their use & may be punitive towards staff actively encouraging SUs to vape
Safer alternative to smoking and can be used a cessation tool if they choose.
The biggest benefits could be among communities where smoking is a chronic relapsing condition that robs people of their health and their disposable income ie the poor, people who have serious mental health problems, prisoners, people who have poor physical health
I believe that we should be encouraging pts to stop smoking and vaping to improve their health.
As a Quitcard provider rather than a medical profession.
“Other”
however I still recommend vaping due to other testemonies I’ve heard from other users and professionals..
Would recommend quitting smoking all together.

Question 12. Thank you for taking this survey. Please feel free to leave any comments.

12

I’m an e-cig user and would recommend it to all smokers to try them without the pg in it first before they try it with pg. As a lot of people are allergic to the propylene glycol
Gen. 1 e-cigs were not effective for me personally, the gen 2 was, and helped me quit smoking after a pack and half a day 40+ year habit. I have been tobacco free for a year 7/26/15, and nicotine free since Christmas 2014.
I vape myself. Cannot recommend it highly enough.
The Tobacco Products Directive will be a public health disaster, and will crush an industry which has given more hope to people than any in the 21st century (okay except maybe electric cars, robots)
A significant number of service users were utilising ecigs in the service & had quit or reduced cigarettes. Following prohibition of their use indoors, some service users have resumed smoking as they did before.
I am an ecig user & activist myself
I myself have been smoke free for 9.5 months with the use of e-cig. I feel so much better now. And so does my pocket book.
The improvement is depend on user itself. Ingredient of flavour is the main component to give attention.
I hope you get lots of people completing the survey, well done

Once the survey was over, the participants were given a link to both Ecigarette-Research and M.O.V.E.


ADDED 01/13/17

Physician Advice for e-Cigarette Use

 


To be sure the record is clear, I specifically targeted some of the renowned tobacco control “experts” and organizations around the world repeatedly to take this survey for complete balance within the answers. To my knowledge they did not.

For all the effort these worldwide organizations and individuals do to claim e-cigarettes are bad, I wanted to be very public about allowing the opportunity for them to speak their minds as well.

Just a few examples:

a

b c  e

– – – – –

This survey was put out before Public Health England released their evidence to the world.

(Public Health England)

Public Health England Ecigarettes_an_evidence_update_A_report_commissioned_by_Public_Health_England(6)


The film A Billion Lives

is no longer being censored!


Added 8/29/16:

 

Majority of US doctors discussing electronic cigarettes with their patients


 

If you are a non-profit vaping / e-cigarette friendly organization and aren’t already listed,

you can be listed on the front page of my website for free.


More to come including the results of the 2nd “Vaping Truth Survey”.

As always,

Keep ON #Vaping On.

Kevin.

5 thoughts on “Medical Professionals Speak Out on E-Cigarettes.”

Leave a Reply

