My Data Driven Meta-Analysis: E-cigarettes cause less smoking.

kid smoking



Data Driven Meta-Analysis: E-cigarettes cause less smoking. Imagine you’re a tobacco control “expert”, a professor, in fact. There is notoriety, fame even. You’re not a scientist, but while bumbling through your meta-analysis, you elude to being one for decades. Ahhh the life.

While walking upright, there’s a noticeable amount of doughnut powder in your beard (to show your expertise) in almost any sterile artificial setting — where everyone will nod their heads in agreement…

glantz tweet


Since I have the formalities out of the way, I will meta-analyse the chart below for before Professor Puff-N-Stuff gets his grubby paws on it.

I’ll submit my findings for all you math / data / science /statistitians for peer review below!

Aren’t you excited?


Submitted by Kevin Crowley, AKA @VapingIT, SPE, EEI.

(You have to have the fancy-shmancy initials!)

Title

(or whatever they put at the top of important studies)

E-cigarettes cause less smoking.

“Important stuff”:

E-cigarette use was tracked by the FDA & CDC – from 2011 – 2016.

It went up, peaked in 2015 and went back down.


 

Purpose:

I suppose I should explain myself like they all do, but I won’t, I’ll do it my way.

To have determination a deliberate (Thanks Fig!) and honest assessment of whether e-cigarettes cause more smoking (or not) in youth without using words like “may, might, could” or any phrases like “more studies will be needed to determine” (with or without nicotine).

This could be difficult, and I’m not an “expert” so I certainly hope you’re rooting for me.


Data: More Stuff

Cigarette use in the same time frame – went down. (Check my math, this is important).

kids youth gateway

Findings:

Most children around adults not smoking has caused the children to not smoke. The adults choosing to use (e-cigarettes) vaping equipment instead of purchasing cigarettes, so the children can’t steal cigarettes from parents who are not smoking.

E-cigarettes cause less smoking in children, and adults.

(Being informative is exhausting!)

Result:

Since 2011, adults smoked less, making cigarettes less available to kids. 8% of children will still try cigarettes.

Links:

Chart above is here.

Study below the chart is here.

You can purchase my metanalysis for a billion dollars once I put it behind a paywall.


Conflicts Of Interest:

Like this matters, but I’ll play along. None, consumer.


Opinion

Big Ole’ long sentence assesment warning!

It is in my opinion that around 8 percent of the children in the United States are the core group of rebels who, despite any half-hearted efforts by tobacco control organizations or esteemed professors like Puff-N-Stuff, will try smoking, skip school and daredevil and adventure off into other activities deemed dangerous or delinquent-like.

Less than that will continue try cigars, hookah, pipes and smokeless tobacco.

It happens. That will give more time for experts (uninterested in blaming themselves or rebellion) to have something to do, like blame Hollywood for the remaining 8%.

I want to beat Professor Glantz to the metanalysis submission frenzy:

How’d I do?

Peer review my findings! Someone check my math!


Related:

“most e-cigarette experimentation does not turn into regular use, and levels of regular use in young people who have never smoked remain very low.”

Cumulatively these surveys collected data from over 60,000 young people.

Young People’s Use of E-Cigarettes across the United Kingdom: Findings from Five Surveys 2015–2017

“Nicotine dependence is not a significant mechanism for e-cigarettes’ purported effect on heavier future conventional smoking among young adults.”

Evaluating the Mutual Pathways among Electronic Cigarette Use, Conventional Smoking, and Nicotine Dependence.


Related:

Via Michael Siegel:

Center for Tobacco Products is Lying to the Public About Youth Tobacco Use

Mine:
Smoking and E-cig use among teens is down, again – (Don’t tell Stan)

Added 9/6/17

I must have done well:
  • Riccardo Polosa
  • Christopher Russell,
  • Joel Nitzkin and
  • Konstantinos E. Farsalinos

A critique of the US Surgeon General’s conclusions regarding e-cigarette use among youth and young adults in the United States of America


Advertise with YOUR text link or banner!


Do you know about THR4LIFE?

bod1



You can find me here trying to be cordial on Facebook

You can find me here being a bit more evil on Twitter

You can also find me on LinkedIn


Have you met our friends at vapers.org.uk?

vapersukgraphic.JPG


Medical, Research, Science Professionals:

Research:


Politics:

E-Cigarette Politics 

A Billion Lives

A Billion Lives


think

Your comments are NEVER filtered, always encouraged and welcome on this blog.


 

There is definitely more to come.

Keep ON #Vaping On.

Kevin

 

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

6 thoughts on “My Data Driven Meta-Analysis: E-cigarettes cause less smoking.”

Leave a comment