Nicotine Reduction Therapy, What’s really safe? The Truth & Perspective on the Gum, Patch & Drugs Over E-Cigs.

doctor

Nicotine Reduction Therapy, A new perspective for the health community. Some, as seen below, cannot use certain methods. Just because they are approved, doesn’t mean there aren’t issues with the end user. It doesn’t mean they are safe.


These people went to these methods, these lengths as a way to stop smoking and these are their words for “approved” methods and voice some extremely valid reasons they did not work. These comments show without doubt or need of “science” that there IS a better and more effective alternative, vaping.

( Comments from around the world, unedited, from the Vaping Truth Survey)


The patch caused skin irritation and nughtmares. The gum caused digestive issues. Cold turkey worked for a short time because I was pregnant. And Chantix caused horrible nausea and nightmares.

• Chantix was awful. It messed with how I felt and caused anxiety. Gum def didn’t work. Patch burned my skin, gave me super weird dreams. Vaping, has had no negative side effects.

• I didn’t try acupuncture but I did try auriculotherapy. Zyban worked the best, but after 18 months quit I started again and was up to a pack-a-day again within three days… as if I’d never quit! None of the other methods I tried worked for more than a few days at most. You have to want to quit SO badly and have some serious willpower and motivation… otherwise, nothing will be effective. Vaping replaces not only the nicotine, but the hand-to-mouth action. That was critical to my success.

• Nothing satisfied me like vaping does. Vaping satisfies all the urges. My doctor did not recommend me quitting smoking as I was going through a lot and he felt it would push me over the edge
• Chantix made me irritable and mean. Cold turkey I didn’t have enough self control for. The lozenges and gum did not help with the hand to mouth feel of smoking so it wasn’t good enough either.

• Chantix (prescription) made me an absolute nut, patch and inhaler didn’t work for more than a month (I would go right back to it), and cold turkey didn’t work at all.

• 1 week was the longest I could quit with existing legacy methods, they just don’t work. Quitting by using a vape device was much easier by comparison.

• nothing worked for me. i believe this is down to the fact that with patches, for example, they give you a 24hr hit of nicotine, and when you remove them you still crave the nicotine, so go slowly back to gaining your hit, be that via smoking or another method.

• As soon as you stop taking the drugs, you want a smoke, the gum tastes horrible and doesn’t work worth a darn, and cold turkey is really hard without support. Using an ecig replaced the action of puffing on a smoke so the psychological affect of puffing on an ecig completely calms the users cravings without the nasty chemicals and tar
• I wouldn’t touch Champix or Zyban as many suicides have been attributed to them.

• Neither medications like Chantix or patches/gums worked in my case. The withdrawal syndrome was too strong or they had some unexpected secondary effects.

• You name it I’ve probably tried it. (The Dr’s wouldn’t let me try the drugs because of the medications I have to take already.) Nothing worked, that monkey was always on my back saying “I want a real cigarette”. Vaping has given me a freedom I never thought was possible. The monkey is dead and I am truly free.
• Vaping is not a smoking-cessation method for me. I tried it and immediately realised this was BETTER than smoking – without the health risks and the guilt. I enjoy my nicotine as I enjoy my alcohol and caffeine. I have no intention of giving up vaping any more than I intend to give up beer or coffee.

• That last resort was Chantix and Zyban. It caused me to hallucinate. I gave the packets back to my doctor. As with patches, no effect except dizziness, rash on my skin, and I could even have one patch on each arm and smoke at the same time. I tired the Allan Carr method, his book is a con inmy opinion, it should be banned !
• Patches – gave me nightmares, Inhaler – tasted AWFUL, Zyban – I had this twice, both times it worked for about 4 months and then I returned to smoking, Champix – also had this twice, made me feel very sick both times, didn’t finish either course due to making me feel so unwell. Could Turkey – managed about 6 hours. Acupuncture – price prohibitive and didn’t work at all

• I was in the car. still in the hypnotist’s parking lot. decided to test out how much I DIDN’T want a cigarette and how yucky it would taste. Lit it up and had no difference. Wasted $30 and smoked all the way home!

• My last attempt before rediscovering vaping was another trial with chantix along side of recovering from larengeal surgery because of a cancer scare. I lasted about one month. I would sa I have been desperate to quit for the last 15 years, but none of those options made it possible for me until I picked up my e-cig.

• After one week on chantix I got depressed and was told by the doctor to stop using it as people have committed suicide on it. Other nrt either tasted horrible or made me itch or hurt my throat. After having acupuncture I left the building and had a fag. Self help books didnt teach me anything i didn’t already know. telling smokers that they will die won’t help anybody.

• I can’t try the prescriptions as I have a history of depression. Nothing else touched the cravings. Vaping the right nic strength totally kills the cravings. I actually prefer vaping over smoking because of the taste and smell and it works! No wicked witch from the west! 🙂

• Champix (as its called in Canada) made me terribly ill. I did quit smoking for the 5 weeks I was on Champix but because I felt so sick, I realized that this wasn’t the way to quit. I started smoking again and felt better. Pharmaceuticals are not the answer for smoking cessation.

• I nursed my mother through lung cancer until her death in 2000, then 5 years later went through it all again with my sister. Both were long term heavy smokers like me, so I had every incentive to quit. Believe me I tried – countless times using every known aid. Nothing worked for very long so I made my peace with it and quit quitting. Then I was introduced to vaping and decided to try it for one week to see if it might help me to cut down. I never smoked again. I quit without even trying.



If you’re a health professional and are in any doubt there isn’t enough “research” about vaping, please refer to this website: E-cigarette Research, Studies & Papers

Once you’ve done that, or already understand “vaping” is substantially safer than smoking: PLEASE join M.O.V.E. 


Here is where I am going to turn the tables a bit on misinformation. Here is where I call one of you alleged professionals OUT.

Schoolyard bullying if you want to call it that, but you have media at your disposal, I simply have a blog. Call it what you will.

Some medical experts are told to tell patients to “use these approved methods” by SPONSORS. Perks, bonuses. Prestige. Looking good on television is not saving lives. If you are one of those “experts”, and this stings, then you need to re-evaluate your profession and seek help, knowledge and further educate yourself.

You assume it’s important work you’re doing spreading misinformation about e-cigarettes, and it’s quite disturbing knowing you’re too arrogant or ignorant by claiming you “don’t know enough” and there’s “not enough information”.

If you are a medical professional. do some reading here about e-cigarettes. If I can find it with a full time job, and NO degree, you can certainly access and inform with your vast knowledge and education, right? You’ve got the big degree. Figure it out.


Here is an example of “not sure”.

Dr Kevin R. Campbell, MD, FACC

“Discussing the dangers of e-cigarettes with @WNCNMikeg on @WNCN this morning”.

https://www.facebook.com/video.php?v=936687416343234


He says he is discussing dangers and states in part:

“some type of fluid” (Um, don’t you KNOW? Your discussing the DANGERS of E-cigs, Doctor? You don’t sound qualified to discuss them very well, now do you?)

“nicotine…terribly addictive” Wrong

Referring to Dr. Jeff Crane, he’s “unsure” but both of you could go here for plenty of information about e-cigarettes.

As for gateways / children?

In the end, this specific “doctor” after proper adult engagement and “needing to know more”, blocked quite a few people both on twitter & facebook because we were pointing out the discrepancies in his “expertise”, like adults.



For some reason, this next link goes to the middle of the twitter line, so you may need to scroll up to see his first tweet:

This is just a part of the timeline here.

dangerous



I don’t care what your position is, I don’t care what your title claims you to be, if you are in the public eye you should be ashamed of yourself for pretending to know “dangers” and then saying you “don’t know enough” of the very topic you describe as dangerous. Dr. Campbell, by the way, I saw your misinformation about Chantix where you claim it’s VERY EFFECTIVE as well…would you recommend that crap to your family?

Stop the lies, vaping saves lives. Nice tie, and hope your book sells hundreds.


All comments are from the Vaping Truth Survey (Final Analysis)


If you have PROOF, and it has been properly performed and properly reviewed, I and every person vaping will listen to every word.

Here, just in case you want to redeem yourself, I have your “Plausible Deniability” section ready.

Keep On #Vaping On.

Kevin

8 thoughts on “Nicotine Reduction Therapy, What’s really safe? The Truth & Perspective on the Gum, Patch & Drugs Over E-Cigs.”

Leave a comment